Bone Broth my best friend


Bone broth bone broth bone broth! I’m sure you’ve heard of it these days. 

The medicinal values of this stuff far out ways the smell whine cooking it or what it sounds like. It’s beyond AMAZING! I will never live without it. Never! Ever. Eevvveerrrr.

My daughter loves it! And she’s a fussy eater so that’s saying a lot. When I started eating it, I was quite weary and desperate to say the least. I needed to heal my gut. I needed to get ahead of the auto immune disease and to feel better.

After drinking if for a week I had 10 compliments in 1 day and started loosing weight. I stopped craving wrong food. My skin looked healthier and my gut felt better. I then did the Chicken broth and ended up totally emptying my stomach and detoxing for 4 days. My stomach was healing!!!! It was phenomenal.

It’s a journey and by far one that must not involve a love affair. It’s s way of life incorporation it into your daily eating habits.

I recommend looking into the GAPS diet for any autistic or gut guidelines. I’m yet to do it properly and my son hates the broth but we will get there.

What’s the big deal you say? Bone broth has enormous healing compounds like proline, glutamine, collagen. It’s an anti inflammatory and healing the gut lining which I turn stops toxins from entering into your blood stream. It’s good for your bones, teeth, hair. It strengthens immune system and your gut function. Not only does it taste nice if you do it right it also creates gelatin which is super good for you. The fat on it is gooood fat. The body thrives off this super-broth and no wonder when you have a cold or flu they used to say chicken soup is best because the broth ‘soup’ really does boost your body to generate healing and you cannot help but fall in love with it.

Now be careful because you can get rubbish commercial stuff out on the shelf because NO! – sugary ingredients are NOT allowed in it like to tomato paste etc. If you want the real deal.

And a quick half an hour cooking time wont cut it. The secret to broth is the ssllooooooooww drawing out of the collagen in the marrow bones. I cook mine for 72 hours sometimes. It’s fabulous.

But go research it yourself and find out from the professional & amazing people like Sarah Wilson and nutritionist if you must get more wonderful info on it. But the real test is in drinking it. Just drink it without telling anyone for 10 days… And you’ll hear the comments& feel the difference.

Here’s how you start: (this is for beef broth)

  • Use a slow cooker on high.
  • Buy marrow bones, joint bones, necks or stewing meat with bones.
  • Apple cider vinegar (I use Braggs)
  • Garlic
  • Veggie salt & pepper 
  • Cold water
  • Leeks, carrots (optional)

Then brown any of the pieces of bones that have meat on if to brown neat and clutch in the flavor. Use your oven on 180′.

While that’s going on, place cold water in the slow cooker, add your WASHED bones, your chopped /crushed garlic , salt and pepper.

Add only a dash of Apple cider vinegar. This aids in drawing out the collagen so I’ve been told. 

Add browned meat once the water has been heated up. And cook away for anything from 12 to 72 hours!

{Once cooked}

Cool broth down. Take out bones. Place in fridge once cooled. A thin layer of fat will form. It’s easily removable. Discard it. Or eat it if you need the fat or doing GAPS diet.

I place the broth, meat and all into either 

  1. Ice cube trays to freeze
  2. Or zip seal bags mini size to freeze

That was I get to take out cubes or pocket size portions to warm up on the gas stove whenever I like. 

Easy. Easy. Easy.

I don’t take the meat out because I personally eat it as a meal and enjoy it like a cup of soup. Mine is quite organic and rough and not smooth clean liquid.

I have to make sure it’s like a soup so I can enjoy it like a meal. And not like a chore. 

Enjoy it, it’s worth every drop. You can feel it do good straight away. 

Lasts 5 days in fridge and 3 months in freezer.

(I’ll do chicken broth post soon)

Oh! And if my dog has funny tummy I give it to him too. Fixing him up no problem! Not sure how to prove that but it does ! Amazing right?! 


Leave a Reply

